User assignments

You can use user assignments to assign any InEight Platform user to a Compliance or Completions organization, project, category, and role. The user will have access to manage Compliance or Completions, according to their assignment.

The User assignments page shows all users from Platform. The user’s name, email, and status are from their profiles in Platform. The designated Roles, Reporting tags, and Last updated information from their assignments are also shown.

User assignments are added by designating users to organizations, projects, categories, and roles. You can also assign Reporting tags to users. For more information about reporting tags, see Reporting tags.

Automatic user assignments can be configured to assign roles and categories to InEight Platform users. For more information see Automatic user assignments.

After user assignments have been designated, they can be removed or transferred to other users.

In the Add user assignment wizard, an assignment consists of one or more users, organizations, projects, categories, and roles.

Assignments and History

When viewing a user assignment, the User assignment page shows the Assignments and History tabs. The Assignments tab lists all user assignments. You can filter assignments by Organization/Project, Role, or Category. The History tab lists the history of all assignment's changes, which you can filter by the Change type, Role, Category, Organization/Projects, Reporting tags, Change date, and Changed by fields.

Assignment limits

You can assign up to a maximum of 50,000 user assignments at a time. After the user assignments are done, the changes to categories and roles take place are processed in the background. If you exceed the 50,000 maximum, a red warning message shows alerting you that you have exceeded the limit.

Considerations

You must have Level 3 – Account Admin permissions in InEight Platform or a Compliance or Completions role with the applicable permissions.

Steps

To navigate to User assignments, see steps to access organization level settings in Settings overview.

Add a User Assignment

  1. Click the Add icon, and then select Add user assignments from the drop-down list.

  2. Select users to add assignments to, and then click Next.

    When you add multiple users, the assignment is listed individually for each user.

  3. Select the organizations/projects, categories, and roles to designate for the selected users, and then click Done.

    You can be assigned multiple assignments. Assignments do not affect existing Platform roles.

Transfer user assignments

  1. Click a user’s name. The user assignment window opens that shows all user’s assignments.

  2. Click the Transfer assignment icon next to the role you want to transfer.

  3. In the assignment wizard, select the user, categories, organizations and projects to transfer the assignment to, and then click Next.

  4. In the Confirmation step, click Transfer. You can click the Transfer drop-down, and select Transfer and select next user, or Transfer and close.

    You can only transfer one role's assignment at a time.

Remove user assignments

  1. Click a user’s name, and then click the Remove assignment icon next to the role. The Remove user assignment wizard opens.

  2. Select organizations, projects, and categories to remove, and then click Done.

You can remove all user assignments in a single action using the Remove all assignments option. Removing all user assignments makes it easier to clear existing assignments before you reassign users.

Remove all user assignments

To allow users to remove all assignments:

  1. Open the role configuration.

  2. Select the Roles/Users tab.

  3. Select the Allow bulk removal of user assignments check box.

  4. Click Save.

When the Allow bulk removal of user assignments setting is enabled, the Remove all assignments option becomes available to remove all user assignments.

A confirmation message shows before the assignments are removed. For larger assignment removals, the process runs in the background.

Email notifications are sent when adding, transferring, and removing assignments.

View user’s assignment history

  1. Click a user’s name, and then select the History tab.

  2. Click Close to close the window.

Add reporting tags

  1. Click the Add icon, and then select Add reporting tags.

  2. Select users to add reporting tags to, and then click Next.

  3. Select reporting tags to include, and then click Save.

    To create reporting tags, see Reporting tags.